Skip to main content

Effective Nov. 1, 2023, clients and families, visitors, vendors and staff are required to wear a mask while moving throughout the hospital, including while in elevators, in spaces where clients receive care or participate in research. A medical grade mask will be available upon entry.


TRAIL Lab - Our Team

Meet the staff and students of TRAIL.



Dr. Sally Lindsay, Principal Investigator and Leader of TRAIL lab.

Sally is a Senior Scientist in the Bloorview Research Institute and Professor in the Department of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy and the Rehabilitation Sciences Institute, University of Toronto

See Dr. Sally Lindsay's full scientist profile



Peiwen (Lily) Cao, MSc, Lily has a Master’s degree in Health and Rehabilitation Sciences at Western University. Her research interests focus on the psychosocial adjustment of youth with disabilities and their families.


Natanela Dain, MA, Natanela has a Master of Arts in Sociology & Legal Studies from the University of Waterloo. Her research interests include transitions from youth to adulthood, as well as psychosocial predictors of wellbeing. She is passionate about working with youths and young adults with disabilities.  

Shaelynn Hsu, BSc (Candidate), Shaelynn is currently working towards her Honours BSc in the Biomedical Sciences program at York University. She hopes to combine her passion for working with youth and adults with disabilities and interest in research to develop inclusive strategies and facilitate independence. She is also currently working as a Life Skills Assistant in the VolunteerABLE program. 

Lise Olds, BA, Lise received her BA in Indigenous Studies from Saskatchewan Indian Federated College (now First Nations University of Canada) at the University of Regina. She has a strong interest in inclusion and overall well-being. Lise is active in her community and also works in the Bloorview Research Institute as an Administrative Assistant.

Postdoctoral Fellows and Graduate Students

Over 150 people (trainees and highly qualified personnel) have trained in the TRAIL lab and most have been very successful with receiving external awards and scholarships (over $490,000 to date) and going on into careers in academics, health policy, government and health sciences.


Narges Abdeahad, PhD, 2023-2024, Narges received her PhD in Recreation and Leisure Studies from the University of Waterloo. Her research interests are in the areas of the youth mental wellbeing, motivation, leisure as a coping resource and social psychology of sports.

Yiyan Li, PhD, 2022-2024, Yiyan received her PhD in Sociology from the University of Saskatchewan. Her research interests focus on immigrants and Equity, Diversity and Inclusion.


Rushmita Alam, PhD (Cand.), 2023-2027, Rehabilitation Sciences, University of Toronto. Rushmita has a Masters in Inclusive Design. Her thesis focuses on "Clothing ableism: co-creating adaptive clothing for and with children and youth with disabilities."

Tyaibah Biswas, MScOT (Cand). 2023-2024, Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy, University of Toronto.

Keira Mattook, MScOT (Cand). 2023-2024, Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy, University of Toronto.


Postdoctoral Fellows

Kristina Fuentes-Aiello, PhD (2021-2023)

Azar Varahra, PhD (2019-2020)

Kendall Kolne,PhD (2018-2020)

Mana Rezai, PhD (2018-2020)

De-Lawrence Lamptey PhD, (2017-2018)

Laura Hartman, PhD (2014-2015)

Anne-Marie Depape, PhD (2013-2014)

Athena Goodfellow, PhD (2013-2014)

Melissa Fellin, PhD (2013-2014)

Irina Tsybina, PhD (2011)

Clinical Fellows

Mohammad Zubairi, MD (2012-2014)

Graduate Students

PhD students

Vanessa Tomas (2019-2023)

Sara Hanafy (2018-2022)


MSc Students

Abby Vijayakumar (2019-2021)

Sunny Bui (2018-2020)

Suky Hong (2017-2019)

Celia Cassiani (2015-2017)

Alicia Pannicia (2014-2016)


MScOT students

Nadia Barrie (2022-2023)

Yiwen Li (2022-2023)

Yoyo Yuen (2021-2022)

Lovina Ng (2021-2022)

Aleah Johnson (2020-2021)

Zahra Karmali (2020-2021)

Hailey Benedict (2019-2020)

Jessica Todd (2019-2020)

Emily Chai (2018-2019)

Amanada Tong (2018-2019)

Mikhaela Albarico (2018-2019)

Isabelle Ingles (2017-2018)

Larissa Lopez (2017-2018)

Winnie Lieu (2016-2017)

Cara Uy (2016-2017)

Patricia Bo-Ran, (2015-2016) 

Cindy Ma (2015-2016)

Emma Skinner (2014-2015)

Nikita Findlay (2014-2015)

Karen Yau (2014-2015)

Xuqing Qie (2014-2015)

Danielle D’Allessandro (2013-2014)

Andie Hickling (2013-2014)

Halie Peters (2013-2014)

Shakira Hanif (2013-2014)

Kathryn English (2013-2014)

Rachael Authors (2013-2014)

Nicole Van Riel (2012-2013)

Laura Kim (2012-2013)

Amanda Dresch (2012-2013)

Kelsey Bick (2012-2013)

Jennifer Woo (2012-2013)

Melanie Kasner (2012-2013)


Simran Joneja (2023)

Stuti Patel (2022)

Adyasha Pradhan (2021-2022)

Jaclyn Dyson (2022)

Luiza Lamaj (2022)

Mara Primucci (2021)

Sara Abrahamson (2021)

Sierra Pulver (2021)

Karen Wong (2021)

Demitra Apostolopoulos (2020)

Sara Ewen (2019)

Thaneya Kugansan (2018)

Joelle Li (2018)

Leora Karon (2017-2018)

Mikhaela Albarico (2016-1017)

Dilakshan Srikanthan (2016-2017)

Sara Cancelliere (2016)

Ashley Lam (2016)

Erica Li (2016)

Emily Chan (2016)

Monika Mistry 2015-2016

Andrei Stoica (2015-2016)

Tania Mahendiran (2015-2016)

Anzhela Povar (2014)

Samantha Burns (2013-2014)

Finola D’Souza (2013)

Fionny Hau (2013)

Julia Ma (2013)

Celia Cassiani (2013)

Brigitte Corran (2012)

Ashley Edwards (2011)

Suzanne Robinson (2010)

Andy Tran (2009-2010)