Skip to main content
small white wavewhite wavelarge white wave

What is National Nursing Week?

National Nursing Week is the annual celebration of nurses in Canada, held each year in the week of May 12, to mark the anniversary of nursing pioneer, Florence Nightingale’s birth.

During National Nursing Week, Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital celebrates the critical roles that nurses play in the health care and in our community. During the week, Holland Bloorview also announces the recipients of the DAISY Award, an international recognition program that honours and celebrates the skillful, compassionate care nurses provide every day.

"Nursing Week enables us to pause and celebrate the outstanding contributions of nurses across the health care system and beyond", says Irene Andress, vice president programs and services and chief nursing executive. "Nursing Week celebrates excellence in nursing practice – in clinical care, leadership, research and education and it provides an opportunity to thank and appreciate nursing as a profession and nurses in their roles - locally, provincially, federally and globally."

Nursing Week 2023

Holland Bloorview observed the National Nursing Week from Monday, May 8-14, 2023, by inviting families, staff and our community to "thank a nurse" for the amazing work they do.

"Every year, during the week of nursing pioneer Florence Nightingale's birthday, we have the opportunity to celebrate our nurses – their commitment and dedication to the health care and wellbeing of our clients and families," says Ana DiMambro, clinical nurse manager and collaborative practice leader – nursing, pharmacy and respiratory therapy. "It is a time for us to honour our nurses and recognise the many roles they play in our clients’ health-care journey." Click here to read more.

Daisy Award winners 2023

During the week, Holland Bloorview announced four recipients of the Daisy Award winners for 2023:

  • Emilie Canham, RN award
  • Karen Fabris Silva, RN award
  • Jorge Santos, RN award
  • Louise Frydrych, Nurse Practitioner award

Read more about the winners here